Shop through your Echo  device and get a great deal on a Tap today

http://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20160708005141/en/

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the Measured Circle blog

6 Responses to “Shop through your Echo  device and get a great deal on a Tap today”

  1. Phink Says:

    I finally got the tap. At $69 it was just too cheap to pass up. I plan on using it as a guest Echo when we have someone staying with us. I’ll keep it by the guest bed when they are here and by our bed when we don’t have company since we don’t have one in our bedroom yet. I will also use it for listening to Pandora or audible books while rolling through the house in my wheelchair doing laundry, shaving, etc. It should attach to my chair with no problems at all with the blue $20 sleeve I bought.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Having a guest Echo makes a lot of sense! We have one Echo in our family room, and a Dot in the bedroom…that pretty much covers the whole house for us, except maybe the garage (unless we shout loudly). Oh, and we have a Fire TV, and a Fire TV Stick, so…more options.🙂

      I take my Tap with me to work, and use it there pretty much every day…but I would put it in a guest room if someone was visiting (unless we have full SmartPhone Alexa access by then).

  2. Phink Says:

    Let me ask you something. I know the sling means the wireless charger does not work but I read somewhere there is a simple workaround. I read simply slip the bottom part off, leaving the rest intake and it then sits on the charger and does just fine. That makes sense but I figure it is on fairly tight and not sure how easily this can be done. Have you tried it?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I find that a bit odd. If you take the bottom off, it’s just as easy to take the whole thing off. It’s like…taking one side of a bowstring off. Once you remove the tension, it will just fall off.

      I haven’t had any trouble taking the sling on and off, so I usually do that. I have normal hand function, so it might be harder with somebody with, say, arthritic hands. I would think, though, if they can take off the bottom they can take the whole thing off.

      • Phink Says:

        OK, thanx for that info. I do have very weak hands. The motorcycle wreck in 2003 that took my leg almost took my left hand. I came within hours of having it amputated and my left hand to this day is very weak to the point I keep a small channel lock pliers in the kitchen drawer to open bottles of water and what not if they are on too tightly. My right thumb was also damaged severely so both hands have strength problems. I’ll just have to test it when it gets here to see how hard it is for me to get on and off.

        Side note that I find humorous. I always say one of the great things about small kids is they don’t understand “giving people the business” as Beaver used to say. They always think everyone is always serious. So, when smaller kids ask me how I lost my leg I tell them a half truth. “I had a motorcycle wreck. I was trying to jump 14 school buses and found out I could only jump 13.”

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I understand. I have a sibling with a condition which also results in effectively low grip strength.

        The contact surface in the cradle is a small area…I would guess you could cut (or have someone cut) a hole in the bottom of the sling. That would still give you the portability of the sling…my only concern is if it would make the contact, or if the remaining bottom would prevent it. It’s possible some easy conductor (a penny?) might solve that, but I suspect it might work with some of the sling left.

        Important thing when you try the Sling. Put the bottom in first from the side. I think some people try to force the Echo through the hole in the top, which would be ridiculously difficult. With the bottom of the sling in place, the leverage is quite good to stretch the top of it into place as well.

Leave a Reply

