80 geeky quotes from the Eighties: a quiz

80 geeky quotes from the Eighties: a quiz

CNN’s documentary series The Eighties The Eighties is a winding down its run: let’s see how much we’ve learned (or perhaps should have learned…or already knew) about geek-friendly works of that amazing decade! Here are eighty GF quotes. Give yourself one point if you know the movie/show, three points if you know the character/actor (I would accept either one), and ten points if you know the writer (I would count the show creator for a TV series). There will be only one quote from each work (but there might be more than one from the same character). I’ll post the answers later. Good luck and have fun!

In no particular order:

  1. “No matter where you go…there you are.”
  2. “Where does he get those wonderful toys?”
  3. “I do not mean to pry, but you don’t by any chance happen to have six fingers on your right hand?”
  4. “Replicants are like any other machines. They’re either a benefit or a hazard. If they’re a benefit, it’s not my problem.”
  5. “I don’t make monkeys, I just train ’em.”
  6. “I’m not all alone in the dark. I like the dark. I love the dark.”
  7. “Did you know, Mr. Torrance, that your son is attempting to bring an outside party into this situation? Did you know that?”
  8. “That’s a big Twinkie.”
  9. “I’ve had enough practical jokes for one evening. Good night, future boy!”
  10. “You Americans, you’re all the same. Always overdressing for the wrong occasions.”
  11. “If you want to be a party animal, you have to learn to live in the jungle.”
  12. “Try not. Do…or do not. There is no try.”
  13. “I ain’t got time to bleed.”
  14. “I’m an alien, from the planet Melmac. I have powers you can only dream of. “
  15. “Maybe it was an iguana.”
  16. “Believe it or not, it’s just me.”
  17. “A day in the Marine Corps is like a day on the farm.”
  18. “Come with me if you want to live.”
  19. “These aren’t my rules. Come to think of it,  I don’t have any rules.”
  20. “So, how do we know who’s human? If I was an imitation, a perfect imitation, how would you know if it was really me?”
  21. “Confronted by their true selves, most men run away screaming!”
  22. “Teenagers. They think they know everything. You give them an inch, they swim all over you.”
  23. “…a young loner on a crusade to champion the cause of the innocent, the helpless, the powerless, in a world of criminals who operate above the law.”
  24. “Whatever you do, don’t fall asleep.”
  25. “You’d better get yourself a garlic T-shirt, buddy, or it’s your funeral.”
  26. “I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick *ss…and I’m all out of bubblegum.”
  27. “Excuse me, I have to  go. Somewhere there is a crime happening.”
  28. “You all remember what to do whenever anybody says the secret word, right?”
  29. “May the Schwartz be with you!”
  30. “In the end, there can be only one.”
  31. “Two men enter, one man leaves.”
  32. “I never drive faster than I can see.”
  33. “Crush your enemies. See them driven before you. Hear the lamentations of their women.”
  34. “They’re the world’s most fearsome fighting team!”
  35. “If you build it, they will come.”
  36. “Need input!”
  37. “A man with the brightest of futures. A man with the darkest of pasts. From Africa’s deepest recesses, to the rarefied peaks of Tibet, heir to his father’s Legacy and the world’s darkest mysteries.”
  38. “Won’t that be grand? Computers and the programs will start thinking and the people will stop.”
  39. “I want to be shipwrecked and comatose, drinking fresh mango juice.”
  40. “But the most important rule, the rule you can never forget, no matter how much he cries, no matter how much he begs, never feed him after midnight.”
  41. “Don’t have a cow, man!”
  42. “I assure you, Mrs. Buttie, the Ministry is very scrupulous about following up and eradicating any error. If you have any complaints which you’d like to make, I’d be more than happy to send you the appropriate form.”
  43. “The owls are not what they seem.”
  44. “Does this look inanimate to you, punk?”
  45. “I watched you very carefully…red light: stop. Green light: go. Yellow light: go very fast.”
  46. “We’re now a quarter of an inch tall, and sixty-four feet from the house. That’s a equivalent of 3.2 miles. That’s a long way, even for a man of science.”
  47. “Shall we play a game?”
  48. “Has it occurred to you that it might be unsettling to see you arise from the grave to visit me?”
  49. “I have been, and always shall be, your friend.”
  50. “Sword of omens, give me sight beyond sight!”
  51. “Just repeat to yourself it’s just a show, I should really just relax”
  52. “This is where the wealthy and the powerful rule. It is her world…a world apart from mine.”
  53. “What if courage and imagination became everyday mortal qualities?”
  54. “Make it so.”
  55. “It’s yet another in a long series of diversions in an attempt to avoid responsibility.”
  56. “She’s fantastic, made of plastic.”
  57. “It all started when a time travel experiment I was conducting went a little caca.”
  58. “The Visitors are our friends.”
  59. “From days of long ago, from uncharted regions of the universe, comes a legend…”
  60. “Danger lurks behind you, there’s a stranger out to find you…”
  61. “More than meets the eye!”
  62. “Wowzers!”
  63. “Dance your cares away…worry’s for another day.”
  64. “Man lives in the sunlit world of what he believes to be reality.”
  65. “Truly, truly, truly outrageous!”
  66. “We travel through time to help history along, give it a push where it’s needed.”
  67. “Insects don’t have politics.”
  68. “Call me Snake.”
  69. “My mind is all I have! I’ve spent my whole life trying to fill it!”
  70. “I have the power!”
  71. “Every duck has his limit, and you scum have pushed me over the line!”
  72. “I don’t want to live forever if you’re not going to be with me.”
  73. “You wanna see something really scary?”
  74. “…television is reality, and reality is less than television”
  75. “You are thirty-five years old, Mr. Vale. Why are you such a derelict? Such a piece of human junk?”
  76. “God isn’t interested in technology. He cares nothing for the microchip or silicon revolution. Look how he spends his time: forty-three species of parrots!”
  77. “Credit is a sacred trust, it’s what our free society is founded on.”
  78. “What in the blue blazes is the circus doing here in these parts?”
  79. “Meet little Melvin…he’s a ninety pound weakling. Everyone hated Melvin.”
  80. “Hey, I know this guy [Ronald Reagan]. Is this another movie?”

Join thousands of readers and try the free The Measured Circle magazine at Flipboard 

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the  The Measured Circle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

5 Responses to “80 geeky quotes from the Eighties: a quiz”

  1. Joe Bowers Says:

    Quotes 37 and 50 are the same, is that a mistake, or is it from two different sources?

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I could remember all the words that went along with “Believe it or not, it’s just me,” but I couldn’t remember the show! Is that worth half a point? If so, that gives me a measly 39 ½ points. I’m not walking on air. I’m not feeling free. And now that song is stuck in my head. Gee thanks;)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!
      🙂 Sorry about the earworm.😉

      I think that’s reasonable scoring…take your half a point. I’m not sure I’d consider 39.5 measly, by the way…we’ll see if other people report their scores when I post the answers (I think I’ll give the long weekend for people to play, then post answers on Tuesday). I wouldn’t get them all, by the way, but I would get most of them.

      In terms of the song, it was one of those unusual (but not unique) situations where a song from an entertainment work had a strong impact outside of it. This one was a top 40 hit (I think it got right up towards the top)…so it’s possible many people know it without even knowing it was connected to a TV show or movie.

  3. 80 geeky quotes from the Eighties: a quiz (the answers) | The Measured Circle Says:

    […] 80 geeky quotes from the Eighties: a quiz […]

Leave a Reply

