The Weird Old Days: my new Flipboard magazine

The Weird Old Days: my new Flipboard magazine

Has the world always been weird?

Well, yes, of course.🙂

Over the decades, though, the way in which we look at those strange phenomena changes.

I had originally planned to do a book of old (public domain…no longer under copyright) newspaper stories, and provide context for the articles.

Then, the people at the

Flipboard (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

released an update which makes it easy to create your own “magazines” and to “flip” articles from the web into it.

In the same way that Twitter is really a different medium, this is something new.

If you already have the Flipboard app (and I read it every morning…it sort of holds the same place for me that a daily newspaper used to have), it’s easy to add a user-created Flipboard magazine. Getting the app is easy enough that, if you are interested in something, it’s a good way to get the information.

Here’s a place to get to The Weird Old Days:

 http://flip.it/ZtmYw

Why do a Flipboard magazine instead of a book?

After all, I don’t get any royalties from Flipboard: no direct compensation at all.

The main thing for me is the flexibility to keep adding to it.

With a book, you reach a point where you decide to publish it. You can certainly update it later, but that can be quite confusing for readers. People who buy it before the update don’t automatically get the new version (that’s true at the Kindle store, which is where I would have published it…and certainly true in brick-and-mortar stores ((I’m a former manager)) for paperbooks).

If you are going to update it every day (that’s been about right for The Weird Old Days, which has over 100 articles at time of writing, it’s pretty clunky to do a book.

I think it’s a fun way to go: for all of my Flipboard magazines, I have over 450 readers…that seems like a lot to me in a fairly short time.

It doesn’t cost anything, and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

So, what is in The Weird Old Days?

I search through the Library of Congress’ Chronicling America collection of digitized newspapers (from 1836 through 1922). I certainly may use other resources at some point, but I feel confident in the copyright status of these.

As far as which search terms to use, well, that’s part of where you are getting my expertise.

For example, you can’t search for “UFOs” or “flying saucers”, since the terms weren’t in use back then (“flying saucers” came into the national vocabulary in 1947). There were, however, “airships” reported (especially in 1896 and 1909).

However, that doesn’t mean I’ll just include every airship story…because there were airships at the time. Even in 1896, before the Wright brothers, there were lighter-than-airships.

Another thing that complicates matters is that newspapers ran a lot of fiction back then. Especially following War of the Worlds (first serialized in 1897), there were quite a few tales of martians and airships…and while I assume the readers commonly knew they were intended as fiction, they were rarely labeled clearly as such. My guess is that people knew by the position in the newspaper, or by the name of a feature (which might include rotating stories).

“Lake monster” has gotten me many results…but “Loch Ness monster” yields nothing, despite common claims for history going back centuries. Those stories will be there in different places, but the term “Loch Ness monster” really becomes popular with the 1933 sightings.

The “Abominable Snowman” term does work (dating from 1921).

Many of the terms for “psychic phenomena” were around…so I can search for telekinesis or telepathy and get results.

Of course, they also did stories about things way before their time…Nostradamus, for example.

It particularly interests me when there were things which were popular then, and not so much covered now. Giant human skeletons in the USA, for example.

Oh, and one thing that amused me! I tried searching for “vampire”, thinking I might get some reports of existing ones, and there were many articles. However, those articles were mostly about the Theda Bara type of “vampire” (a…forward, or let’s call it “romantically assertive”, female).

Update: I forgot to mention that I know you may have some trouble reading an article on your device, due to the way they are formatted by the Library of Congress. They have an option on the page to display it as a PDF (you’ll see a link), so if you have a decent PDF reader, that can be a good way to go.

This is going to be fun to explore! I’ve already found some interesting pieces…

New! Try the free The Measured Circle magazine at Flipboard

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the  The Measured Circle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

Leave a Reply

