My take on…R.I.P.D.

My take on…R.I.P.D.

R.I.P.D. official site
R.I.P.D. at IMDb.com
R.I.P.D. at MRQE.com
R.I.P.D. at RottenTomatoes.com

Surprisingly (because I’m the geek), my Significant Other wanted to see R.I.P.D., based on the trailers.

Me? I’m happy to see any movie, so that worked.πŸ˜‰

Unfortunately, we didn’t find it very entertaining.

Let’s hit the good news first: Jeff Bridges made the movie worth watching (barely). Bridges made a clear effort to find something interesting to do, and did.

Hm…is that it for good news? Actually, no. James Hong is good, but James Hong has been good for literally decades (Hong’s earliest IMDb credit is 1955).

There were a few other good performances, too.

The effects were interesting at times…oh, and the movie is relatively short.πŸ˜‰

Okay, on to the bad news.

It was pretty derivative. There were large amounts of Men in Black, and some Ghostbusters thrown in.

I like both of those movies, but it was partially because they were surprising and fresh.

We like Ryan Reynolds, but Reynolds was one reason the movie didn’t work very well. It seemed to me like Reynolds deliberately tried not to be like Will Smith in Men In Black. I can see the thought process: “What was Will Smith like in Men In Black? Oh, yes, funny and charismatic…so I won’t be either of those.”πŸ˜‰

I also found some parts of the movie to be borderline objectionable. There is some language use, but it was more about playing into stereotypes, at least for me.

I pretty much never regret going to the movies, but you have quite a few options right now. I’d wait for this one until you are home folding laundry.

This is one of those where I”m going to say that if you enjoyed it, great…I’m happy for you.πŸ™‚ I like things that a lot of people don’t,and I think you are a better person when you find entertainment in something.

For most people, though, this is a case where you might find something better to do with your ticket money.

Sorry, Ryan…looking forward to The Voices!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in theΒ The Measured Circle.

Leave a Reply

