My take on…The Lone Ranger

My take on…The Lone Ranger

At this point, I can only hope that The Lone Ranger exhausts the list of shows that Johnny Depp and I both watched when we were kids…I’d rather not see any more of his big budget adaptations.🙂 It’s not that The Lone Ranger is exactly a bad movie, or that Dark Shadows was…it’s just that, well, they aren’t actually good movies, either.

The Lone Ranger, in particular, is very uneven in tone. At times, it tries to be somewhat serious. At others, it’s Dudley Do-Right. There are bizarre fantasy elements, which are interesting in themselves, but don’t fit with Wile E. Coyote comedy and brutal (offscreen) violence.

MILD SPOILER ALERT

I’m very careful about spoilers. I’m not going to reveal anything significant about the plot, but if you want the joy of total discovery, you may want to skip this next part.

I did go into the movie with some expectations, and one was that they were going to make a real effort to treat the character of Tonto with respect. Honestly, as I mentioned in

A short history of the Lone Ranger

recently, the Jay Silverheels/Clayton Moore version always showed us that the prejudice against Tonto was wrong. In the original radio series, Tonto is important and intelligent.

I’m not sure how much of a wrong there was to right, here…and this movie certainly didn’t do it. In fact, we aren’t really shown excessive prejudice against Tonto, which would have been at least taking a stand. Yes, it happens, but the people seem to have a reason to do it…it’s not just irrational racism, it’s been spurred by events.

END SPOILER

I will say that there was some great makeup in it. The sound engineering was good, although there were times that some sounds seemed to come from the wrong part of the theatre…first from one spot, then from another, without the sound producer having moved. The costumes are good, the performances…okay. In fact, the whole movie was okay, even if it was a mish mash of tone and elements. My Significant Other said the movie would have been better if it had been bad, rather than thoroughly mediocre.😉

I suspect that the next executive that suggests that Disney spend hundreds of millions of dollars to make a movie out of an older property, after John Carter and The Lone Ranger, is going to have to make a very seriously good case.🙂

I wouldn’t tell you to stay away from the movie…but it didn’t have much of an impact on me, and you have to take into account that it is just shy of two and a half hours long. I guess that’s not too bad, though, considering that it appears to be at least two movies…😉

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

Leave a Reply

