My take on…Star Trek into Darkness

My take on…Star Trek into Darkness

This one is easy…it’s the best movie I’ve seen so far this year, and my Significant Other a bit more than tolerated it, so that’s a win.😉

It was exciting, fun, and moving. Special effects brought us a real sense of “Cool! I want to do that!” There were sly allusions to the original Star Trek series and movies (which probably gave me a better experience than my SO), but these actors and characters are also establishing their own territory.

My SO particularly noted Zachary Quinto’s strength as Spock, although it is quite a different Spock from Leonard Nimoy’s. I like Chris Pine’s Captain Kirk. Interestingly, my SO thought Karl Urban looked too much like DeForest Kelly…I didn’t have a problem with that.

The movie is a thrill ride, but one with a significant amount of effective humor. Simon Pegg’s Scotty is really there for comic relief at this point, but that works reasonably well.

Does it all work?

For me, the meta stuff can be a bit much. I understand how the alternate timeline from the first J.J. Abrams movie allows for some parallel, but skewed events. Although it wasn’t a big problem, it did seem a bit…contrived.

The other thing I’d say is that the great plot twists weren’t that hard to anticipate. That might be a strength, though, making this plot more linear than the first movie.

I’m careful about avoiding spoilers, so at this point, I won’t say much about the plot of the movie. If you do want that sort of  detail, here is the

Memory Alpha article

Bottom line…go see it, it’s fun.🙂

By the way, if you haven’t seen this

Audi commercial

with Quinto and Nimoy, it’s worth a look…

To track the movie box office for the rest of the year see 2013 Movie Box Office: 40, 80, 1, 2 , 3.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

Leave a Reply

