You’re showing your age when you say, “You’re showing your age”

You’re showing your age when you say, “You’re showing your age”

I’m always amused when I reference, say, a 1960s TV show* on an online forum, and somebody says, “You’re showing your age.”

Sure…I was showing that I was young enough to use Netflix, or Hulu, or for that matter, cable TV.😉

For my adult kid’s generation, they are as likely to be listening to Nina Simone as they are to Adele, and may do one right after the other.

They don’t have this huge divide of decades, and in today’s on demand world, that makes perfect sense.

If you go to a high school campus today, you will likely see students wearing shirts promoting the Ramones or the Beatles.

The Beatles became popular close to fifty years ago.

Somehow, I wouldn’t guess that the same number of kids in a 1970s high school were wearing Eddie Cantor shirts.🙂

Television popularized nostalgia when it began showing older movies…The Three Stooges, The Little Rascals, the Universal horror movies.

In the 1960s, you could see posters of W.C. Fields and Humphrey Bogart, and the “Monster kids” had model kits and Famous Monsters of Filmland.

However, part of the sense of that then was acknowledging that those were from another time.

Now, when you can get a song at a time, or use Pandora to hear music which is similar to something you choose or Songza to hear somebody else’s playlists, I don’t think people care as much about the background of a song.

The New  Millennial  generation doesn’t divide pop culture into decades as much, because all the (recorded) decades are available to them.

So, if you think someone is showing their age because they reference something created decades ago…you’re showing your age.😉

* I like to say that I like 19th Century literature and 1960s TV, and I don’t understand why many people think one is good and the other is bad…gee, I wonder if when I reference Dostoevsky, people think I must be a vampire to be old enough to have read that…😉

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

3 Responses to “You’re showing your age when you say, “You’re showing your age””

  1. Endangered sayings | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] “You’re showing your age.” […]

  2. Today is to the Beatles as the Beatles are to… | The Measured Circle Says:

    […] You’re showing your age when you say, “You’re showing your age” […]

  3. Round up #136: E-book sales down per AAP, 100 essential non-fiction books | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] You’re showing your age when you say, “You’re showing your age” […]

Leave a Reply

