The new Doctor Who companion is…

The new Doctor Who companion is…

The concept of a “companion” for Doctor Who always seemed a bit…complicated to me.

Not that there’s anything wrong with wanting to hang out with a member of a different, and hypothetically inferior species. I mean, I’ve hung out with dogs, cats, and a whole lot of other species. One of my proudest things is having hand-tamed a wild scrubjay…I could whistle, and have the bird fly over to my apartment from across the street and land on my finger.

The Doctor is a Time Lord from Gallifrey. While human in outward appearance, this is an alien, and an arguably superior one.

Why does the Doctor take a human (or more than one) traveling in the TARDIS?

Are they pets?

Does the Doctor treat them as equals? I respect animals…if I was the only human left, you can bet I’d be happy to have dogs as friends.

However, there is no doubt that the Doctor and at least some of the companions have had…what has at least been interpreted by the audience as a romantic relationship.

There have been many companions. Amongst the best known:

  • Sarah Jane Smith, who many Americans encountered first along with Tom Baker as the Fourth Doctor (the Doctor changes bodies from time to time…and personalities, to some extent). Sarah Jane would later get a spin-off
  • Leela, who was a low-tech warrior
  • Rose Tyler, who was very memorable and came in with the successful revival of the series
  • Amy Pond…who with Rory Williams, are a married couple of companions…but the Doctor and Amy clearly have a deep emotional connection

Well, the next companion has just been announced:

Jenna-Louise Coleman

Coleman has done television work, and had a small part in the recent movie, Captain America: The First Avenger.

I have to say, I sort of wish they’d gone for something different…how about an 80 -year old? What about somebody from, say, a little-known culture (of course, I don’t know how they’ll play this character)? I just like my entertainments to surprise me, and I’ll have to see if they manage that here…I wish Coleman luck in the new role!

Hollywood Reporter article

BBC Article (includes video)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

Leave a Reply

