Did Netflix just kill DVDs?

Did Netflix just kill DVDs?

You are probably hearing about Netflix changing its price structure.

That’s being reported as a raise in the subscription prices, but it’s really going to be a reduction for many people.

Why?

Right now, you may have a $9.99 plan that lets you get unlimited streaming, and one DVD at a time.

They are splitting those out.

You can now get unlimited streaming for $7.99…and if you want to get DVDs as well, that’s another $7.99.

That means some people will drop the DVDs, saving $2 a month.

I do get DVDs from Netflix, but they aren’t a big part of my video consumption…I use the streaming from Netflix every day (with my Roku, so I can watch it on my TV…you can do that with other devices too, including videogame consoles like the Wii).

I think it’s not going to be a hard choice for a lot of people…they’ll just drop the DVDs. If they want a DVD every once in a while (even up to two a week) they’ll get them from a $1 a day rental machine in the grocery store.

People may stop buying dedicated DVD players as much as a consequence.

The move to streaming has been strong, but Netflix just put a turbo booster on it.

Netflix press release

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

2 Responses to “Did Netflix just kill DVDs?”

  1. Mary Says:

    This has an entirely different aspect if you are an Amazon Prime member, which I am. I can get most of Netflix’s streaming content on Amazon at no charge. Yes, I know I am paying for Prime, but not because of that; it has value for me otherwise. Thus I will be cancelling the streaming part of Netflix and keeping the dvd part. So often there is something I want to see which is only available on dvd so Netflix will still be meeting that need for me.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Mary!

      That’s a good point. I don’t think the streaming for Prime would replace the streaming from Netflix for me, but I understand how it could for some people.

Leave a Reply

