“Mercy. There was a time when I…”

“Mercy.  There was a time when I needed it.  A time that I…I begged for it from those who could so easily have given it: from those who could have understood and helped. But they chose not to…and now, I choose not to.”
–Barnabas Collins (played by Jonathan Frid)
Dark Shadows episode 257 
screenplay by Malcolm Marmorstein

I’ve been working, from time to time, on a book of quotations for many years.  I call it, “The Mind Boggles”, from one of my favorite quotations.  I do source quotations a bit differently from a lot of people.  In the case of a work of a fiction, I consider that the character said the line…not the author.  As a bit of an author myself (in a minor way), I can tell you…my characters definitely say things that I would never say.  These are all quotations that I’ve collected myself: I’ve read the book, seen the TV episode, and so on.

Hope you enjoy them!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

Leave a Reply

