My take on The Social Network

My take on The Social Network

This is one of the best movies of the year. 

The acting is great!  That doesn’t take just a collection of talented actors.  Beyond a doubt, it also takes a great director (David Fincher, in this case).  One way you can tell: when even the smaller parts are impressive.  It takes an actor’s director to make that happen.

Jesse Eisenberg (Zombieland) brings us a fully-realized Mark Zuckerberg.  I can’t say I’ve known somebody just like that…but I’ve known some people with some similar characteristics.  That shows me that it’s not a stereotype.  Andrew Garfield (who will be Spider-Man in the upcoming reboot) has a strong performance as Eduardo Saverin.

In my effort to avoid spoilers, I won’t say much about their parts.

Some smaller role stand-outs included: David Selby (who will always be the werewolf Quentin Collins on Dark Shadows for me); Douglas Urbanski (who is primarily a producer, but has a very nice scene here); and Brenda Song (the Disney Channel’s London Tipton on The Suite Life of Zack and Cody).

However, I honestly couldn’t pick out a poor performance.  Again, credit goes to the director for that.

Obviously, some people are going to wonder about Justin Timberlake’s performance.  He was fine.  :) 

Overall, the combination of David Fincher (Fight Club) as director and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing) worked very well.  The first scene was one of my favorites…a simple (well, not simple) conversation.  There are times you know it’s an Aaron Sorkin script (that’s a good thing), and Fincher keeps the story taut, adding visual excitement to the clever dialogue.

I also want to say that the audience was a very mixed group…from twenty-somethings to eighty-somethings.  That should help the movie do well…and have legs.  My guess is that it will be nominated for several Oscars.

I have to say, I haven’t been using Facebook…and this movie made me even less inclined to do so.  I’ll just say, it wasn’t a pretty story…no heroes and villains, no one I’d particularly want to help by using the site…but that’s part of what made it a good movie.

What did you think?  Feel free to let me know.

The Social Network at IMDb

The Social Network at MRQE

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

Leave a Reply

