Box office quiz 2010 #1

Box office quiz 2010 #1

Summer’s officially over (although summer movies are still making money).  I thought it might be fun to do a quiz on the box office so far.  We’re looking at the US dogro (domestic gross) for movies released in the US this year.  I’ll give you the answers in a future post.  For the big picture, see our regularly updated recap, Movie Box Office: 40, 80, 1, 2 3

1. What movie has made the most money this year?

2. How many of the top ten movies are cartoons?

3. How many of the top ten are original stories (not sequels, remakes, or based on something else like a book)?

4. What is the biggest money-making movie this year directed by an Oscar-winning director?

5. What R-rated movie has the biggest dogro this year?

6. How many of the top ten movies are sequels?  Based on a comic book? Based on a book?  A remake?

7. Which non-animated comedy has made the most money this year?

8. How many of the top ten already have sequels (not spin-offs) announced?

9. How many of the top ten have videogame tie-ins?

10. How many of the top ten were released in 3D?

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle.

2 Responses to “Box office quiz 2010 #1”

  1. Rennis Nekasrof Says:

    Huge film fan here, so I’ll try to answer your question as best as I can, off of the top of my head.

    1. It’s gotta be Toy Story 3. Or maybe even Inception.

    2. Cartoon? Sadly, none, I believe. Everything’s animated nowadays.

    3. That I can think of, just one. Inception. Nolan as a thing for originality. Every seen Memento? Despicable Me might be an original too, but I’m not too sure.

    4. Has to be either Nolan’s Inception, or Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. Don’t know which one made more. I’m thinking Nolan’s.

    5. No idea. I never take a look at the ratings anymore. I love films too much to pay attention as to who can’t and can’t see it.

    6. Almost all ten. Except for Inception. You’ve got Iron Man 2, Toy Story 3, Shrek Forever After. Most of them are sequels and based on comics.

    7. Film overload. Can’t think.

    8. That I can think of, Twilight. Unless there’s some Harry Potter in there somewhere.

    9. Thinking, thinking…Toy Story 3 (I’m sure of it.) Iron Man 2. Last I heard, Nolan wanted to make a video game based on Inception.

    10. No idea.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Rennis!

      I really appreciate you taking the time to put your guesses here! You do sound like a film fan.

      It’s funny, I picked the term “cartoon” to separate it from “movies with animation”, particularly CGI element. The first Tobey Maguire Spider-Man had CGI Spidey shots…but I wouldn’t consider it a cartoon. I do consider movies with only CGI characters (no humans) cartoons, personally.

      I’m going to post the answers later today…I’m glad you got your guesses in before I did. 🙂 I’ve found that if I wait too long for a follow up to a blog post, I hear about it from folks.

      Hope to hear from you again!

Leave a Reply

