My take on The Futon Critic

My take on The Futon Critic

This is, quite simply, the best TV site on the web.

That’s saying a lot.  TV Guide has a large website, and TV.com has a lot.  IMDB.com, which is the best movie website, covers TV, but not like this.

Now, I do have to clarify: this the best TV site for TV watchers.  Not for historians, not if you are writing a book about a show…but if you are watching TV, right here, right now, and in the near future, this is the site you need.

Why is it so good? 

It’s easy, it’s comprehensive, and it’s customizable. 

What more could you want?

Well, I am desperately disappointed with it in one particular.

It only does prime time.

See?  The only problem is…there isn’t enough of it. 😉

I hate having to go other places to research other shows, but that’s the way it is…for now.  I keep hoping, although I don’t want them to degrade the value by stretching themselves too thin.

Alright, let’s get more specific.

First, the listings.  I love that you can choose just to see new episodes!  Oh, and it’s not some cheesy grid with all the channels…it’s a simple list. 

That’s great…easy, clear.

You can search by show.

You can read breaking news.

You can look at ratings.

There are “rants and reviews”.

You see press release information about the episodes and the shows.

Okay, so all that’s great, but may not seem all that unique (but uniquely well displayed for me).

Here’s where it jumps from a 7″ Motorola VT-71 to a 60″ plasma. 😉

You can customize your own list of shows, news, and so on.

Yes, you can see listings just for the shows you choose.  You can see news about them.  You can get alerts. 

Okay, that may not sound like all that much, but trust me…if you like TV, you’ll be impressed.  Check out the grids!

I’m usually not an unreserved endorser, but except for their chronological limitation, I probably would be. 

Oh, did I mention that MyFuton is free? 🙂

http://www.thefutoncritic.com

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

 

Leave a Reply

