My take on Tim Curry

My take on Tim Curry

Tim Curry guest stars tonight on the season finale of Criminal Minds.  It’s apparently a very dark character, and he’s no stranger to those.

My guess is that it’s going to be good.  In fact, I’ve never seen the series before, but I’ll watch this one.

Curry, whose breakout role was Dr. Frank-n-Furter in The Rocky Horror Picture Show, can give extraordinary performances.

Well, they are pretty much all extraordinary…not always good, mind you, but certainly extraordinary.

When he’s good, he’s very, very good…but when he’s not, it’s still amusing. 🙂

I think he does best with a strong director.  I think he needs someone who will notice him off chewing up the scenery and say, “Tim, we’re over here.”😉

As an example of someone not doing that, watch him in McHale’s Navy.  Yes, I did…I even saw it in a movie theatre, because he was in it.

But when he has that focus and appropriateness for the role, it’s amazing to watch.

Interestingly, I think he’s been particularly good in TV.  Maybe there is less experimentation expected in your typical TV show, which could benefit him.  I thought he deserved an Emmy nomination for his work on Steven Spielberg’s Earth 2 as Gaal.  Not that the series was that good: I recently tried to watch it again, and once he was off the show, I just couldn’t keep going.  He wasn’t likely to get an Emmy nod, of course, I knew that, but I thought he was great.

Similarly, there was Pennywise the Clown in Stephen King’s IT miniseries.  People are still creeped out by that one…no Emmy nod, though.

He has been nominated for an Emmy once…in a guest spot on Tales from the Crypt.

In movies, he deserved an Oscar nomination for Franky…a tour de force performance that has changed thousands of lives.  His performance as Darkness in Legend?  Another great one!  Farley Claymore in The Shadow?  Not so much.  :)  That’s one that’s over the top, out the side, around the back and down the street. 😉

As regular readers know, I really like voice work, an Tim Curry has done a lot of that.  He’s tended to play bad guys, but one of his highest profile roles was Nigel Thornberry on The Wild Thornberrys.

I also think his music has been underappreciated.  He’s recorded several albums…he charted twice (I Do the Rock was the biggest one), but I think his sad, story-telling songs may be the best.  I particularly like Sloe Gin, No Love on the Street, and Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire.  Oh, and his version of I Put a Spell on You?  Really eerie…

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention all the stage work.  My guess is that is how Tim thinks of himself, and he’s certainly been recognized and rewarded for a wide variety of roles, from Mozart in Amadeus to King Arthur in Spamalot.

So, Tim Curry is a reason for me to watch something, even if it’s not a guarantee the show will be good, or even that he’ll be great…but when he is, it’s always memorable.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

 

One Response to “My take on Tim Curry”

  1. Tim Curry reportedly has “major stroke” | The Measured Circle Says:

    […] My take on Tim Curry […]

Leave a Reply

