When did it become okay…

When did it become okay…

…to show people throwing up on TV?

I am not okay with this one.  I have to look away every time it comes up…so to speak.  You see it on reality shows.  You see it on cartoons.  People throwing up.  They used to cut away from that, if they even suggested it.  You might have heard it behind a closed door (even that grosses me out)  But now, it’s all out in the open.  I’m sorry…it was justified in The Exorcist, but on my night-time shows?  Yuck.

…to walk in the street?

I just don’t get this one.  The city spends a lot of money to build perfectly nice sidewalks.  Then (especially in the morning) people will walk (slowly) in the street.  Sometimes with dogs, sometimes just by themselves.  Oh, usually not just one person…three seems common, in full Jets formation.  They walk side by side, and they might as well be snapping their fingers in unison.

I have to practically swerve around them just to get to work.

Get on the sidewalk…that’s why they are there. 🙂

…to say *ss and s**t on TV?

I hear these two increasingly…even on broadcast TV.   Even on the news!  Now, I actually don’t have any problem with this one.  I don’t use those words myself, but I don’t have a problem with others using them.  It’s just still a surprise…I’m not sure when that changed.

So, what do you think?  Is it just people of a certain age who notice these things?  Is there anything that you see and say, “When did it become okay…”

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

Leave a Reply

