“That sort of thing’s for humans…”

“That sort of thing’s for humans.  Something soft about all humans, Gorbash, even if they can hold their own like that knight and the bowman.  I don’t mean just soft in the body, I mean soft in the mind.  Takes ten years for one of them to be able to take of itself, and they never get over that.  They remember being petted and fed and looked after; and later on, when they get the chance, they try to set things up so they get petted and cared for some more.  When they get old and feeble, that’s all they’re good for–more petting and caring.  Not for me, Gorbash!  The first warning I’ll get that I’m growing feeble is going to be when somebody who oughtn’t to be able to, tears my throat out.
–Aragh, the English Wolf
The Dragon and the George
Written by Gordon Dickson

This is one in a series of quotations.  I’ve decided to send them out one at a time, instead of in batches

I’ve been working, from time to time, on a book of quotations for many years.  I call it, “The Mind Boggles”, from one of my favorite quotations.  I do source quotations a bit differently from a lot of people.  In the case of a work of a fiction, I consider that the character said the line…not the author.  As a bit of an author myself (in a minor way), I can tell you…my characters definitely say things that I would never say.  These are all quotations that I’ve collected myself: I’ve read the book, seen the TV episode, and so on. 

Hope you enjoy them!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

Leave a Reply

