My take on Acronym Finder.com

My take on Acronym Finder.com

 
Acronym Finder.com
Type: website 

Okay, this is a quick one.  It should be short, though, right?  It’s all about acronyms.

You know acronyms?  For example, there are those TLAs, used frequently in computing.  What’s a TLA?  Three-Letter Acronym. 🙂

One of the websites I’ve had on my links bar for years is AcronymFinder.com.  I teach medical folks, but I’m not one…and I find I have to jump in there sometimes to find out what is being discussed.

It’s easy, by the way.  You just type in the acronym, and let it find you results. 

You’ll see all the results, but you can also limit them down to any of a number of categories:

  • Information Technology
  • Military & Government
  • Science & Medicine
  • Organizations, Schools, etc.
  • Business & Finance
  • Slang, Chat & Pop Culture

Those are the “verified results”.  They also have an “acronym attic” with possible answers.

For example, TLA gets me 67 verified results, but I can look at 210 other possible definitions.

You can also click on a magnifying glass to search the web for the full term, so you can get more information.

Now, there are other places to go, like Urban Dictionary.  However, one thing I like about AcronymFinder: all the results are safe for work (but still clear).  At Urban Dictionary, you might feel you were working for the SEC with some of the results, if you get my drift.  WTF is defined at Acronym Finder as “What the Freak” (polite form).  That’s clear enough without getting Human Resources involved. 😉

HTH…TTFN. 😉

 This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

3 Responses to “My take on Acronym Finder.com”

  1. Anthony J. Matthews – Self Help for Engineers and Other Almost Perfect People at Anthony J. Matthews Says:

    […] My take on Acronym Finder.com « The Measured Circle […]

  2. What is WAAS and why is it important to GPS receivers? Says:

    […] My take on Acronym Finder.com « The Measured Circle […]

  3. Self Help for Engineers and Other Almost Perfect People at Anthony J. Matthews Says:

    […] My take on Acronym Finder.com « The Measured Circle […]

Leave a Reply

