Great service at Best Buy

Great service at Best Buy

I drive a lot in my job, and quite often, to places I don’t know well. 

I should have had a GPS for a long time.  I actually had a hand-me-down at one point, but we didn’t really like it.  If you went the wrong way, it would say, “Finding rut” (well, it sounded like that…it was probably “Finding route”).   I felt chastised.

So, I got another one…I didn’t need something very fancy, and I bought a Magellan RoadMate 1220 at Best Buy. 

I really like it!  If I choose to go somewhere else (like to a gas station, it just calculates the new route without saying critical.  I like the polite instruction, “When possible, make a legal u-turn.” 🙂

I find the programming (for addresses) super-easy.  It pretty clearly guesses which city I might mean from where I am, so it takes very little typing to add an address.  It limits the letters for the streets to the possible streets.

I like the animations.  :)  It may be that all GPS units are like this, but I think it’s funny to see water and green areas.   I do find it a little odd that it turns dark at night…it sometimes does that too soon. 

The “points of interest” work pretty well.  If I want a vegetarian restaurant along my route, it can find me one.

I would make two little programming changes (unless I’m missing it).  I love it to show me the speed limit.  It obviously know it, since it estimates (very accurately) how long it will take me to get somewhere.  I know, I know…most people don’t really care what the speed limit is.  But I’d like to know.

My other change would be to have it memorize some of my searches…like that one for vegetarian restaurants along route.  Maybe it could resort the choices?  After I make one, move it to the top, that kind of thing.

But those are minor.  I really like it, as you can probably tell.

I didn’t like it, though, when it just stopped charging.  I bought another charger and that didn’t fix it.  I tried it in another car: no go.

I figured I was just going to have to buy another one.  I would even think about another brand, since it hadn’t lasted a year, I thought.

Anyway, my SO (Significant Other) suggested we go to Best Buy first, and see what they could do.

Not surprisingly, they couldn’t fix it.  However, they did just give me a new one in exchange!

The whole process was pretty darn painless.  I didn’t have a receipt: I didn’t even know for sure when I bought it.  They were able to try it in a 12v outlet (like you have in a car), determine it wasn’t working, looked up my purchase, and then gave me the trade-in.

Nice! 

Now, I have “Maggie” like in the car again.  That’s much more reassuring. 🙂

I put the extra charger in my SO’s car.  My SO has never been crazy about the idea of having something in the car “telling the driver where to go”.  :)  I’d messed that up even more the first time I loaned it…I forgot to take it off kilometers…bad move. 🙂

Anyway, just wanted to give credit where credit is due.  I’m a former retailer, and I know they don’t have to make it that simple. 

Thanks, Geek Squad!

This post originally appeared in The Measured Circle blog.

2 Responses to “Great service at Best Buy”

  1. Al Says:

    My built in GPS is named Pupule Lady because she does crazy things, like square block me or take me out of the way when a direct route is obviously available.

    Pupule is “crazy” in Hawaiian in case anyone is as confused as my GPS.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Al!

      That sounds more like that first hand me down I had. We tested it once and it took us a good 45 minutes out of our way…it was pretty scenic, though. 🙂

      “Maggie” (the Magellan Roadmate I have) hasn’t done that. The only weird thing she’s done is when I asked for an Ace Hardware, she took me to one maybe five miles away, when there was probably a closer one. I’m not quite sure how those Points of Interest work: do companies pay to be on it? Is it just taken from public information? Not sure, but it isn’t comprehensive, that’s for sure. 🙂 Quite good, though, but not complete. She has found me some good restaurants, though.

Leave a Reply

