My take on The Oracle of Bacon

My take on The Oracle of Bacon

Type: website
The Oracle of Bacon

So, you remember back last century, when you were playing the “six degrees of Kevin Bacon” game? 

The goal was to name an actor and then connect that actor to Kevin Bacon, by naming movies with bridging actors.

Let’s say you want to connect, oh, Jon Stewart (the host of The Daily Show) to Kevin Bacon.

Stewart was in Doogal with William H. Macy who was in Murder in the First with…Kevin Bacon.

That’s only two degrees of separation.

Let’s make it harder…how about Charlie Chaplin?

Chaplin was in A Countess from Hong Kong  with Marlon Brando who was in  Apocalypse Now with James Keane who was in…Murder in the First with Kevin Bacon. 

Now, I wish I could tell you that I’m doing that off the top of my head, but I’m not. 

I’m using The Oracle of Bacon, a website designed to play the game.  Darn computers, taking all our fun, right? 😉

Not in my mind…it’s fun that somebody put together the software to query the IMDB (Internet Movie Database). 

Of course, Brett Tjaden and the later contributors who built the website had to be geeks (I’m a proud geek), so the site does more.

You can link together any two actors, not just Kevin Bacon.

For example, Jackie Earle Haleyis taking over the role of Freddie Kreuger from Robert Englund.  How about matching up those two?

Their number is only two: Robert Englund was in The Mangler with Ted Levine who was in this year’s Shutter Island with…Jackie Earl Haley.

The idea of the Kevin Bacon number came about from the idea that he seemed to be in almost every movie ever made at one point.  :)  Interestingly, the Oracle has crunched the numbers, and Bacon is not the most connected actor.   That honor goes to Dennis Hopper, which I can totally see.  :)  Long career and lots of movies…and movies with lots of people in them, that can all help.

You can see the top 1000 centers (Kevin Bacon is number 507) here

 I’m impressed with the programming, but you don’t have to be to have fun with the site.

Know somebody who has ever been in a movie?  Use the Oracle of Bacon to match them to your favorite star!

No doubt…the Oracle of Bacon is a geeky pleasure. 🙂

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

Leave a Reply

