The Mind Boggles #1

The Mind Boggles #1

I’ve been working, from time to time, on a book of quotations for many years.  I call it, “The Mind Boggles”, from one of my favorite quotations.  I do source quotations a bit differently from a lot of people.  In the case of a work of a fiction, I consider that the character said the line…not the author.  As a bit of an author myself (in a minor way), I can tell you…my characters definitely say things that I would never say.  These are all quotations that I’ve collected myself: I’ve read the book, seen the TV episode, and so on.  Hope you enjoy them!

 “An intellectual carrot?  The mind boggles.”
–“Scotty” (played by Douglas Spencer)
The Thing (from Another World)
screenplay by Charles Lederer
Based on the short story Who Goes There? by John W. Campbell, Jr.

Harriet Jones (played by Penelope Wilton): “Is it important?”
The Doctor (played by Christopher Eccleston): “Everything’s important.”
 –World War Three episode of Doctor Who
screenplay by Russell T. Davies

“Shallow observers may treat the matter as one which can be disregarded, but one who like myself is possessed of the deeper intelligence of the true philosopher will understand that the possibilities of the universe are incalculable and that the wisest man is he who holds himself ready for the unexpected.”
–Professor George Challenger
The Poison Belt
written by Arthur Conan Doyle

“Just picture it, gentlemen: an army of wolfmen! Fearless, raging, every man a snarling animal!”
–Dr. Lorenzo Cameron (played by George Zucco)
The Mad Monster
screenplay by Fred Myton

 “I did not ask for the life that I was given.  But it was given, nonetheless.  And with it, I did my best.”
–Mr. Eko (played by Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje)
The Cost of Living
episode of Lost 
screenplay by Alison Schapker and Monica Breen

“Scalping a man is a hell of a poor way to cure him of dandruff.”
–Gregory “Kettle Belly” Baldwin/Gulf
written by Robert A. Heinlein

“A toy is never truly happy until it is loved by a child.”
–King Moonracer
Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer
screenplay by Robert May and Romeo Muller

“Yet in the blood of man there is a tide, an old sea-current, rather, that is somehow akin to the twilight, which brings him rumours of beauty from however far away, as driftwood is found at sea from islands not yet discovered; and this springtide of current that visits the blood of man comes from the fabulous quarter of his lineage, from the legendary, of old; it takes him out to the woodlands, out to the hills; he listens to ancient song.”
–Lord Dunsany (J. M. D. Plunkett)
writing in The Book of Wonder

 “Superman is the way America sees itself, but Batman is the way the world sees America.”
–Michael Caine quoted by Christopher Nolan
Entertainment Weekly, August 1, 2008

“Captain, you sing and dance as well as anyone I’ve ever seen, but what the devil are you talking about?”
–Harry Mudd (played by Roger C. Carmel)
I, Mudd
episode  of Star Trek
written by Stephen Kandel

 This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog. 

Leave a Reply

