My favorite joke

My favorite joke

There’s a flood.

An old man is standing in the street, and the water has gotten up to his knees.  A woman comes by in a canoe.  She says,

“Come on old man, we’ve got to get you out of here.”

He replies, “No, I trust in God.”

She rows away.

The water rises.

Awhile later, it’s up to his waist.  Two guys come by on a raft.

“Come on old man, we’ve got to get you out of here.”

“No, I trust in God.”

They paddle off.

The water rises.

Now it’s up to his chin.  A rescue helicopter comes down, and they shout down to him:

“COME ON OLD MAN, WE’VE GOT TO GET YOU OUT OF HERE!”

“No, I trust in God.”

They fly off.

The old man drowns.

Now, he’s up in Heaven.  He says to St. Peter, “I don’t understand this.  I’m a true believer.”

St. Peter says, “We don’t understand it either.  We sent you two boats and a helicopter…”

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

Leave a Reply

