Welcome to The Measured Circle!

Welcome to The Measured Circle!

“One measures a circle, beginning anywhere.”

–Charles Fort

Fort’s point was that everything is connected.  If you start looking at something, you’ll find connections to other things.  Keep going long enough, and you’ll go through everything in existence and get back to where you started.

That’s great for somebody with eclectic interests like me!  You can start with Thundarr the Barbarian, get to Marie Antoinette, go through whoopee cushions, and eventually, end up back at Thundarr.

That doesn’t mean everything is equally important, but it does mean that everything is important…since it is connected to all things.

I have a lot of interests…I always say that’s one of the best things about being a geek…we have a low threshold of amusement. 🙂

This blog is really going to range around…whatever catches my interest, whenever it does.  It’s not going to be like my best-selling blog, I Love My Kindle.  On that one, I write a thousand words a day, do a lot of research, and (for the most part) stick on topic.

In fact, I was thinking of calling this blog Off Topic, but that one was taken. 😉

I know, you need to have some idea what you’re going to be reading, right?

Well, I’m sure to talk about geeky stuff…Doc Savage, Star Trek, that kind of thing.  I may talk gadgets, puns, paranormal, do some fiction…maybe animals, maybe even some politics…definitely pop culture.

Hmmm…not giving you much guidance, am I?

Pieces may be short…long than tweets, but often shorter than my ILMK stuff. 

It’s also going to be irregular…I can’t give myself another deadline and make this work.  When I have a deadline, I feel honor-bound to try and meet it.  I do think this will benefit my other blogs…since I get tempted to sneak this kind of stuff in there otherwise.

So, I don’t think this one is going to get quoted in any news sources…but I do hope people want to share it some. 

So, as they said in the opening of the Supermarionation show Stingray: “Stand by for action!  Anything can happen in the next half hour!”

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

Leave a Reply

