Holy stunt-casting, Batman!

Okay, I was a big fan on the 1960s Batman TV series.  I’ve always liked that better than the comic book Batman, who is too sure of himself for me.  Sure, Julie Newmar was part of it (she’s always going to be Catwoman to me), but I thought Frank Gorshin was great as The Riddler. 

And yes, I’ve watched Spongebob Squarepants…hey, I stay on top of pop culture, you know? 🙂

So, I’ve been amused by Mermaid Man  and Barnacle Boy.  These are two retired super-heroes.  Mermaid Man looks a bit like Aquaman.  I already thought is was cool that they were voiced by Ernest Borgnine and Tim Conway…two former costars of McHale’s Navy (I watched that, too).

So, I was pretty darn excited to hear that they are doing an episode with a young Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy…and they are voiced by Adam West and Burt Ward, the 1960s Batman and Robin!

Now, that’s a little weird for me…Adam West isn’t exactly youthful, although he sounds great. 

The episode (Back to the Past; the Bad Guy Club for Villains) is first being broadcast Monday, February 15 at 7:30 PM…and then, you know, repeated over and over again for the rest of our lives. 🙂

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

Leave a Reply

