My take on Knight and Day

My take on Knight and Day

It was my Significant Other’s (SO’s) birthday, and we have a tradition that includes going to the movies.

Honestly, there weren’t a lot of choices.  We ended up at Knight and Day, starring Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz.

It’s essentially a comedy, and there are some mildly amusing moments.

Overall, though, the movie is sunk by the complete lack of chemistry between the stars.  I was fairly convinced quite often that they had shot their two parts separately using green screen, and were later put together digitally.  It was a surprise when they actually touched each other (for example, in a couple of very chaste, closed mouth kisses)…it seemed more like the Patty and Cathy Lane scenes in The Patty Duke Show than any actual interaction between two people.  I think I’ve seen more sparks between a Barbie and a Ken doll…while still in the plastic boxes on the shelves.  ;)

Okay, that’s subjective, and perhaps not fair.  I like Tom Cruise and I like Cameron Diaz.  My guess is that the fault lies with James Mangold, the director.  His resume is heavy on heavy (Cop Land, Walk the Line, 3:10 to Yuma…and yes, a movie actually called Heavy).   I’m guessing that he wasn’t effective in directing his stars in the lighter moments.

The violence was cartoonish, which can certainly be a plus.  As I mentioned, the movie’s basically a comedy, even with some significant action sequences.  However, it’s one of those movies where tons of bullets can be flying everywhere, without any real threat to the hero.

The plot was quite predictable…which is one of my least favorite things.  I love being surprised in movies: that didn’t happen here almost at all.  I’ll be cautious about movies written by Patrick O’Neill in the future.

I like movies…period, and I wouldn’t tell you not to see this one.  I’m kind of hoping that this review could help your enjoyment of it, by lowering your expectations.  Otherwise, well…it might be a reasonable choice if you had it on TV while you were folding your laundry. 

Sorry I couldn’t tell you more good things about it.  Cruise is fine, Diaz seems a bit out of it (but her character is frequently drugged in the movie).  If you friends want to see it, fine, go with them…I didn’t dislike anything in it in particular…

Oh, and it is getting some good reviews, so you might agree with them.  :)

Knight and Day at IMDb 

Knight and Day at MRQE

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

